73.9 F
Winter Haven
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Latest Posts





Lake Wales, FL – Lake Wales Medical Center held its annual Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon on Tuesday, Feb. 23, to honor the nearly 100 volunteers who donate thousands of hours every year helping the hospital provide top quality care to its patients and visitors.

Mike Oftedahl (1)

Mike Oftedahl was named Volunteer of the Year. Oftedahl, who volunteers in the Emergency Room, has become an integral part of the ER every weekend, said ER staff members who nominated him. They noted that he’s willing to step in and help with anything at any time, is great helping with patients and their families, and is such a part of the team that he even calls in to let them know if he’s not going to be able to be there.


The hospital also recognized two volunteers with Dedication to Service awards: David Fehser and Lorraine Bundick. Fehser volunteers in the Senior Circle office, assisting members with signing up for trips and activities, answering phones, and helping with mailings and other office tasks. Bundick volunteers at the Hunt Lobby information desk, is eager to learn and help, and always makes sure to get visitors the help and information they need.


Eight volunteers received Community Cares awards for their outstanding service. They are:  Marie Stibitz, Joe McKinney, Barbara Peters, Jack Hamilton, Mattie Maloy, Jane Beai, Jessica McPhail, and Allen Fairbairn.


Special recognition was given to retiring volunteer Ellen McElhinny, who volunteered at the hospital since 1983. McElhinny amassed 8,750 volunteer hours during her years at the hospital and was a fixture at the lobby information desk. She received a special pin commemorating her total hours of service, a floral arrangement, and a gift card in recognition for her more than 32 years of dedicated service.


Service hour pins went to:

100 Hours

100 hours: Stefanis Albaladejo, Lori Beisner, Clarice Evans, Jack Hamilton, Margie Legg, Deborah Mathewson, Viola Nolan, Chadasha Pamee, Margery Trask, Alice VanAsdale, and Gayl VanAsdale



500 hours

500 hours: Lorraine Bundick, Tamese Christian, Allen Fairbairn, Ogarth Hutton, Jessica McPhail, Michael Oftedahl, Lois Sessions, and Daisy Thomas



1000 Hours

1000 hours: Mary Luhr, Betty VanDellen, Barbara Waldrop, and Carol Whitaker



1500 Hours

1500 hours: Jane Beai, Mary Hudnell, Barbara Marksbury, Mary Beth McGill and Rosemary Quinlan



2000 Hours

2000 hours: Susan Fehser and Merrillyn Seib



2500 Hours

2500 hours: Barbara Hitchcock and Peggy Sabatino



3000 Hours

3000 hours: Edwin Friedlander, Maryanne Siders and Gloria Wurth



7500 Hours

7500 hours: David Fehser

author avatar
Staff Reporter

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss

- Advertisement -